Christmas Musing

day will come when all of us will be able to greet any of us, irrespective of our religious affiliation, with the religious greeting of the season without feeling out of place

Christmas Musing

It was a bright, beautiful, cool, sunny Christmas morning in my hometown.  In essence, it was a gorgeous day.  My inbox and social media, whatever little I use of it, was full with Christmas, Holiday and early New Year’s greetings.  Made me think.

I am not a Christian nor any member of my immediate family is Christian, so none of us practice the religious side of Christmas but I think many of us take part in some way in the festive side. But among my family members, I did not see any hesitation from any corner in wishing Merry Christmas (or the secular greeting of Happy Holidays in some case) to each other.  I have seen many of my friends wishing  Eid Mubarak or Happy Hanukkah or Happy Diwali to my Muslim or Jewish or Hindu friends and I do it regularly myself without thinking anything about it. But I will be hard pressed to find one single occasion when I may have greeted any of my family members with Eid Mubarak or Happy Hanukkah greetings.  Though I do not have any data to prove it, I do not think I will be amiss if that’s the case with my friend circle also.  So what makes it easy to greet non Christians with Merry Christmas in the season?  Is it that rampant commercialization ( and Santa Claus ) has made Christmas, at least the festive part of it, more secular and acceptable to people of other faith.  If that is so, more strength to commercialization.

I do hope that a day will come when all of us will be able to greet any of us, irrespective of our religious affiliation, with the religious greeting of the season without feeling out of place ( or shall I say out of religion).  Till that day comes, peace be upon all of us.  Live and let live ( in peace).

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

