Lament of a Little One Lost in Sea

a kids lament and sense of helplessness on being swept away to sea while fleeing the marauding hordes of rampaging killers

Lament of a Little One Lost in Sea

 

It’s dark all around me
Waves and swells of a rough sea
Pitch black bottomless darkness
Harkens to me
I came to this world
Without given a choice
Where I was born
Language I would speak
Who I do pray
Environment I be in
Always told
If I am good
All forgiving, all powerful, all merciful
Will take care of me
What wrong I had done
Few years I had on this earth
Abandoned now in my time of need
Told that across the sea
Lies the promised land
Where I would be free
Dead in the middle of night
Did we flee
Did not have a hand
When we left the only place
I knew as my home
I had no choice
As the marauding hordes
Calling themselves the ones
Chosen by god
Came rampaging
Hell bent on killing us all
I was promised that if I am quiet
On the boat sailing the sea
Once we land
I will be home safe and free
I was quiet, did not even cry
When the big waves swept me away
Away from my only hope
Never once I opened my mouth
Hoping for the almighty to take me home
It is darkness now all around me
Not a star up in the sky
They had chosen the darkest night
For a safe trip across the sea
The hand of darkness from the 
Depth of the bottomless sea
Crawling up to take me down
I can not lose my faith in the almighty
Whom I have never seen
If there is life after death
And we do meet
I will have one question
Why was I chosen to leave
Before I was old enough
To lose my faith
In humanity

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

One thought on “Lament of a Little One Lost in Sea”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

