Unmarked Graves of Miners Long Gone

Wandering through the hills, came upon a trail leading to a cemetary with unmarked graves of miners from the pasr.

Unmarked Graves of Miners Long Gone

(Featured Image from stonesandbonesca.blogspot.com)

 

Trail marker I tumbled upon
On my lonely walk in the hills
Led me to the forlorn ground
Covered with grass and weed

White picket fence all around
Four cypress trees
Keeping vigil
On the lonely ground
No grave markers
No names
Lush green meadow
Barren
Buried underground
Unmarked graves of
Miners long gone

From around the globe
They came
Hoping to make their fortune
Mining the earth
For its wealth

Mining they did
It was back breaking work
Blasting rocks
Working the mining shafts
They lived a hard life
And when they laid down
Their lives
Buried in graves, unmarked
Lost to eternity
No one to mourn

Mines were closed long ago
Nature had taken back
What was her own

Unfortunate ones
Who never returned wealthy
Back to their homes
For miners long gone
I did a silent prayer
Under the blazing sun
With a heavy heart
Returned home

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

3 thoughts on “Unmarked Graves of Miners Long Gone”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

