Last Sunrise of the Year

Sun does not distinguish between rich and poor in spreading its light and warmth. We should also spread the good wishes for New Year to everyone.

Last Sunrise of the Year

Gentle, golden rays
Of the last sunrise
Of the year
Peeping through the shades
Cajoles me
Rise and prepare
To greet the New Year

I question the
Golden rays
Sun is not new
Rises every day
What’s new in a
New Year

With a wink
Twinkling, golden rays
Smiles and say
Sun is steady
But the earth revolves
Every sunrise is a new day
As the earth
Completes the circle
Comes the
New Years Day

Golden rays paused
And said
Sun shines on
The rich and the poor
The old and the young
Healthy and infirm
Humans and animals
Makes no distinction
So rise
Spread the good wishes
All around
New Years celebration
Not for the rich alone
Poor and the downtrodden
Have the rights
For hope and celebration

So here is to wish
A Happy New Years to all
Peace be on earth
Joy, happiness and health
To everyone
Welcome 2016
Ring the bell.

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

3 thoughts on “Last Sunrise of the Year”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

