I can’t speak up for myself, will YOU

“appetite for rhino horn is so great that it now fetches up to $100,000/kg, making it worth more than its weight in gold. (Horns average around 1-3 kg each, depending on the species.)”
http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2013/05/why-does-a-rhino-horn-cost-300-000-because-vietnam-thinks-it-cures-cancer-and-hangovers/275881/

I can’t speak up for myself, will YOU

In the dead of night
Came death
Came silentlyRhino
But finished the work
With loud bangs
Took my mother
Away from me
She tried to save me
With all her might
She fought
But was no match
For their weapons
Her only weapon
Of defense
Mercilessly they cut
From her still warm bodyRhino4
What good it is for them
Mercy
They did not leave me alone
Before they left
The scene of
Their heinous crime
I was finished off
With a loud sound
We were peaceful
Docile
Just wanted to roam
In a little corner of the world
We called home
Their greed
Left us dead and mutilated
Now
I can’t speak up for myself
Will YOU?
Note:  All photos of dead rhinos from the

post http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2896446/Second-one-horned-rhino-space-month-butchered-poachers-Indian-national-park.html

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

27 thoughts on “I can’t speak up for myself, will YOU”

  1. Oh ! This makes me sad 😦 I love Rhino .. reminds me of my native , which is home to one horn Rhino in Indian sub-continent. I have seen these beauties up close … they are so graceful in walk and so protective of family.. beautifully penned..! You have a talent ..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My dog was just a couple of weeks old pup when I adopted him from a litter of strays born in the bushes of my garden. He was the only one I adopted but I couldn’t help falling in love with all his brothers and sisters too. Sadly all them passed away except my dog and another female due to rabies. I was too young and unawared to do something about it. My heart still breaks for them.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I found it! Lovely poem, as you read through it a story begins to form in your thoughts. Its like one book compressed into one poem. Great job! Will be sharing this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

