At the Bus Stop

People at a bus stop and their responses towards efforts at small talks

At the Bus Stop

Eyes fixed on their cellphones
Or darting to their watch
As if constant checking of time
Will make the bus arrive fast

I tried to make small talks
Only five of us waiting
Rebuffed by the cold stares
I still kept on grinning

Old lady with a neat little hat
Small shopping bag in her hand
Age had taken it’s toll
Hard for her to bend

Two teenagers in their prime
Eyes glued to their cell phones
Oblivious to the outside world
Their cold stares chilled my bones

Young school girl back from school
Stuffed backpack weighing her down
Scribbling on her notebook
She glared at me with a frown

Thought except being a male
What else is my crime
With four ladies at the bus stop
Standing in a line

Bus came at last
Everybody made a dash
Extended my hand to the old lady
She looked up, smiled, took my hand
And said “Gracias”

(Image source not known)

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

19 thoughts on “At the Bus Stop”

  1. I absolutely loved and adored this!!
    I do not usually follow or read blogs with poetry in it, because it gives me anxiety. I do not know why, and I just realised this after starting a blog and reading posts – it’s been around a month.
    Reading this, I felt so delighted! And I love how it rhymes! 😀 Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

