Agony

Agony of the last moments before death and the desire to release from that pain

Cars darting out
From right lane to left
Serpentine traffic
Rubberneckers

Up ahead
Dark silhouette
Like a snake
About to strike
As if dancing
A sensuous dance
In the wind

Roadkill – squirrel
Struck by a car
Head stuck to the road
Rear trying to get up
Death’s sinuous dance
Macabre
Last few breaths
Before curtain call
Tragic

Sudden desire
To be executioner
Spare the agony
Of painful wait
Sniffling and a silent cry
Child on her way to school
Reality

Did a silent prayer
Turned hard to the left
Adding to the traffic jam
Silent prayer
Not for RIP
For somebody brave enough
To stay on the right.

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

One thought on “Agony”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

