I have heard about mid life crisis, but this…

When I got a free rental of the movie A Walk in the Woods, decided to hike the Appalachian Trails through the eyes of Redford and Nolte

 

I love free things. Buy one, get one half price or buy two get one free. So on Saturday when I went to get some DVDs and after selecting the second one, saw the enticing message that my third one would be free, I jumped at the opportunity. Going quickly through the selection (I was afraid the person on the que behind me will push me away, impatient that he was getting), I saw a movie title that did not register with me, but the name of the actors did. Robert Redford and Nick Nolte, two of my favorite actors of all time. Came home and saw one movie Saturday night. Quite forgettable. Mission Impossible:Rogue Nation.

Sunday came and it was NFL playoff games, so naturally movie viewing took a backseat. One game was over and outside temperature was still towards the cooler side. Therefore after lunch, decided to see another movie. After MI the day before, I was not in a mood for another action movie. Turned to Redford and Nolte duet. A Walk in the Woods.

As soon as the previews were over and the main movie started, I saw that the movie had to do something about hiking. Note that I am not a movie reviewer nor a critique. I see movies for enjoyment and do not dwell too much on the movie once I had seen it. But I love hiking and try to hike as much as I can in the weekends. Just two days back, I had discussed about hiking the Appalachian Trails and realized how far fetched my dream was. We live in the west coast and to go out for six months at a stretch to hike the Appalachian Trails is a pipe dream. So when I realized the movie has something to do with hiking the Appalachian Trails, I just fastened my seat belts, hunkered down and got ready for an exciting ride ( sorry, hike). And what a ride it was. I am not going to bother you with the details of the movie. If you are interested, you can rent the dvd and see for yourself. I think you will not be disappointed. What a pleasure it was to hike the trail with these two fabulous actors from the comfort of my family room with the heater on. I think I identify myself more with the character played by Redford but empathize more with the character played by Nolte. What a lovable, honest, screwball rascal.

Somewhat in the beginning of the movie, during an interview Bill Bryson(character played by Redford)made a comment that goes something like this: ” a writer die writing or by a bullet through his head.” No intention of doing either. Never had a gun nor do I intend to buy one. Dying by writing? God forbid!

The basic tenet of the movie itself, well I have heard about midlife crisis, but this….

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

11 thoughts on “I have heard about mid life crisis, but this…”

    1. Thanks. I like the theme but not very happy about the location of the header. To ensure that the header does not look out of place, I had to change the theme color to black.
      Not so sure about the “award”. Time is an issue.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved that movie too, just saw it last week. How you wrote about it here was very creative and inspiring. I now want to watch it again. Great writing and subject. Keep up the good work. I like the black background, it goes well with your poetry and writing posts. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Speaking of taking a walk or a hike, I have taken walks, and have gone climbing in the most unusual places in my dreams. These dreams inspire my writing sometimes, and I love to read about other people’s journeys and “Walk” or “Ride” along with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for suggesting this movie. I love to hike in the Smokey Mt part of the Appalachian Trail. In fact my husband proposed to me on Mt. LeConte. 🙂 So I will have to check out the movie. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I see you are taking Blogging 101. I am so glad I took that workshop when I first started blogging. I think your site looks good. I have a little trouble with the white text on a black background. You have enough contrast but I find it more difficult to read than the opposite. Then again, my eyes are getting old. Enjoyed finding your blog and will visit again.

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

