Jogger who passed me by

Heard the sounds coming from behind,
Much before I saw her,
A steady thump, a rhythmic sound
Of strong feet hitting the ground.
Puff of fine dust wafting in the morning air,
Warned that she is gaining on me,
I shifted to the right, just in time.
In a split second mighty Aphrodite
passed me by.
With a look of disdain in her eyes
That would have killed the most venomous viper,
My BMI challenged body, no competition for her.
Before I could complete my miles,
She passed me a few more times.
Dejected and depressed,
I dragged myself to the nearest Starbucks
Hoping to have my morning cup without any fuss.
There in the crowded parking lot,
Aphrodite was looking for a parking spot,
With the hood down on her convertible chariot.
On a cold winter morning
Like Diana targeting her hunt,
She was frantically looking.
Round and round she drove
To find nearest parking spot.
As I walked out of the door
With my latte in my hand,
There was Aphrodite at last
Squeezing her convertible between
two tight spots.
She glared at me, and
I glared back, triumphant at last
That I had my morning cup first.

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

6 thoughts on “Jogger who passed me by”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

