Star Crossed

Destiny brought them together, reality split asunder

Destiny must have scripted their meet
They were blown out of their feet
First time when they gazed at each other
They knew they are meant to be together
Forever

Days passed by at lightning speed
Nights to short to satisfy need
Before they knew what happened
Call of duty beckoned
Doomed

Oceans apart in distant lands
Sand dunes and thirsty deserts
Wars that had claimed thousands
Nights were spent on solitary beds
Separated

Miracles of technology helped
Odd hours of the day did they spent
Touching the blue screen to feel
Alas, it was not enough to heal
Heartbroken

Joyous news to be shared all around
Call of duty about to end
Honey “I am coming home soon”
Oh joy, cause for celebration
Expectation

At midnight there was the dreaded knock
At the door uniformed two stood at ramrod
Ma’am we are extremely sorry to say
Nothing more needed to be conveyed
Crestfallen

Flag draped coffin on the tarmac
Long before the tears have dried
That of his inside her
They will not meet each other
Ever

It was not their war to fight
They didn’t know if it was wrong or right
Those who started the war for whatever cause
Long gone, enjoying life, no time to pause
Orphaned

Destiny brought them together
Reality split asunder
Star crossed lovers
Longing for each other
Eternity

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

2 thoughts on “Star Crossed”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

