Writer’s Block

When everything goes blank, then write about blank.

Blank stare
At a blank wall
Piece of blank paper
Staring right back at me
Blank wall does not return my stare
It is not a talking mirror
Grip the pen tightly
But the paper stays blank
Blank computer screen patiently waiting
For computer keystrokes to start punching
Mind gone completely blank
Do I have the dreaded writer’s block
I can hear my brain screaming
But the words are completely scrambled
With a scream that choked my throat
Jumped out from my chair and ran out
Reached out to the first person met on the street
Just started talking without paying any heed
Soon everything about writing all forgotten
Back home to my table a changed man
Forgot what I was planning to write
Blank wall, blank paper, blank screen
Came to light
Before mind goes blank again
Fingers punched the keyboard
Like a mad man

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

13 thoughts on “Writer’s Block”

  1. When I have electricity and the Internet, I post six poems a day, one every four hours. I have never experienced writer’s block. When I sit down to write each morning, pen and pad in hand, I do what I call “open” to receive…the expectation and intent is the key. Sometimes an image comes to mind, a word, a line from a book, another poem, etc. I do not judge what I receive but rather write it down even when it looks like an impossible subject for a poem. Sometimes the words come rapidly tumbling out of my pen before my mind even registers them. Other times they drip, drip, drip onto the paper as I patiently wait for them. I need very little editing, usually only due to my poor spelling, typos, using the same word too many times, etc. But mostly I post what appears at first. I do not understand why these poems come as I had never liked poetry before, never understood it, read it and certainly not write it. But they come each morning, seven days a week for the past five years…more than 11,000. I still wonder why, how, who. hugs, pat

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow, you are productive.
      If I start doing that, I will have to be careful for the backlash from my better half 🙂
      Thankfully, I do not have writer’s block till now. That piece was just a sudden inspiration looking at the wall behind my desktop.
      My issue is that my fingers and my thought process are not synchronized, old fingers are slow(:

      Like

      1. I get up early and write the poems in about an hour and a half. Then post them as I have time. WP allows us to schedule them ahead of time. You can do it and make your better half feel neglected…or get him or her involved. For me, the discipline of doing it every day (even when I do not have electricity, I still open to receive the poems) is a key factor in keeping the flow going. Intention is important. But it does not have to be the same as me…just find what feels right for you and do it…opening to the Creative Force that we seem to be able to tap into regardless of media. hugs, pat

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Look on the right under Publishing and you will find Scheduling. You can schedule them as often and for as long as you want. Great when you know you are traveling or such. I often do not have Internet or electricity so like to get ahead in posting but at six a day, it is hard to do that. Still, it is a nice feature for even one day. Their tutorials are pretty good and their Chat help is great. Read on how to use Chat if you have not tried it yet.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know why, but I regret posting it. But yes, you’re right. Your style has a certain charm to it though. Sometimes when I read poetry, the lines seem discordant and I don’t enjoy it all that much. Not yours – it flows beautifully.

        Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

