River Crossing

Driving on the bridge over the wide river brings back memories of crossing it in a ferry.

Banks of the wide river
Connected by a bridge
River crossing is a breeze now

Gone are the drudgery of yore
Running over the sand banks
To catch the ferry to the north bank
Walking precariously over the wooden planks
One false step and down on the muddy shallows
Hustling and bustling to board the ferry
Crossing over to the other shore
Cacophony of sounds
Exhaustion from all the running around
Ferry horn tooting and the pilot shouting
Commands deck hands to cast away the ropes
Shrill siren and revving up of the engine
Rickety old ferry lumbers and slowly slips away
Past the jetty it silently turns
And heads towards the other shore
Passengers, relaxed,  at last settle down
River laps gently at the sides
Suddenly a pod of river dolphins
Jumps up from down under
Performing their mesmerizing acrobatic
Joyous shouts and sounds of running feet reverberate
Passengers crowd the railings
Craning their necks to have a better look
Water hyacinths float by
Ferry suddenly turns avoiding floating logs
A shoal of fish swims away
Ferry moves on slowly and steadily
Engine working mighty hard to keep the course
Pushed by the strong river current
Ferry merrily chugges along
A good three quarters of an hour has passed
With a gentle thump along the jetty
Ferry has come to a halt on the other shore
Deck hands throw the ropes securing the ferry
Passengers, collecting their luggage, Disembark in a single file

As the kaleidoscopic memory flashes by my eyes
My car is on the other side
Barely five minutes it has taken
To cross the wide river
From the south to the north bank
It was no hassle, no running around
No hustle and bustle
River crossing over the bridge
It is a breeze, it is quick
But the romance is gone
Did I even see, I wonder
The wide expanse of the river


Featured image photo by author

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

