Want and Need

Want the whole world but do we really need the mess
What to do with more if we can be happy with less
Want to be at peace or do we need to be rich
Want to be learned but do we need to preach
Want may be less but do we need more
Want to be social but do we need to be a bore
We want more to satisfy our needs, or
Want to ensure to keep up with the Joneses
World may look down on those whose wants are less
While the majority work hard to meet their basic needs
Why is this raging conflict between want and need
When peace in the world is all we want indeed


Write Anything Wednesday March 23, 2016

Week 8 of My Fifty Two Weeks Journey with “W”

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

5 thoughts on “Want and Need”

  1. Life is so much simpler if we focus on what we need and let go of most of what we want. Peace, stillness, gratitude, even bliss comes when we let go of the never ending deluge of desires.

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

