Of Awards, Acceptance,Apprehension

Statutory Rambling Warning : Proceed at your own peril. Author not responsible for your wasted time.

I started blogging on December 15, 2015.  In these three and half months of blogging, I have been nominated by few fellow bloggers for a  handful of awards. Till now I had shied away from accepting any awards.  Let me come clean why.  I am very superstitious. I did not want to jinx my odds of winning the Nobel Prize for literature by accepting any awardsNoblePrize Literature at the start of my writing career. As my fellow believers in luck and destiny will understand, when you gamble always go for the big fish. So why waste my luck accepting the small blogging awards?  This year, anyway, luck has not been smiling on me as far as winning anything. All my $1 and $2 investments in Megamillion and Powerball lottery are going to waste.  I have nothing to show for my efforts. Now that I have confessed to my reason for not accepting any blogging awards, let me go into a little more detail.

When at the beginning of my blogging career I started being nominated for a few awards, I thought people must be joking or it was just the euphoria and camaraderie shown by my fellow blogmates of Blogging 101 class to help out one of their fellow bloggers. So much to having confidence in one’s own ability. I owe it to my friends Head and Heart blabbing(Hira)Nerdsakhi,timelesswheel and paulpablo24 for their encouragement. Few of the awards from this time was Blogger Recognition Award, LovelyblogawardVersatile Blogger Award, Creative Blogger Award and One Lovely Blog Award.  All these awards came with an escape clause that I am free to accept the award or not.  Please do not get me wrong, I liked the awards. Who in their right minds will not like being recognized by their peers but something hold me back from accepting the awards. Though I thanked all my friends individually, I did not take part in fulfilling the requirements of accepting the awards. Maybe I was apprehensive about writing my “acceptance speech” or about answering the questions that were an inherent part of these awards.  I was just hoping that once Blogging 101 class was over and as time passed by, no more awards would be forthcoming. Alas! I was wrong. It slowed down for sure but still showed up from time to time.

Recently I was nominated for a few awards like the Versatile Blogger Award, Creative Blogger Award and One Lovely Blog Award by timelesswheel,palfitness and The World Beyond Sight. Again, I acknowledged my friends individually but hold myself back from formally accepting the awards. Then at the beginning of the week I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Mysticalwriter. I realized that I can no longer hide behind my ambition LiebsterAwardof winning the Nobel Prize and need to come clean.  I wrote a long comment to Mysticalwriter and waited with baited breath for the response. For a few days there was nothing and I was apprehensive that I was going to get a scathing response. Then yesterday I got back a positive comment. That and a blogpost from acookingpotandtwistedtales today about Keeping It Real made me write this post and explain my reluctance or apprehension about accepting awards.  I will be borrowing from my comments to Mysticalwriter going forward in this post.

Thanks to all my friends for nominating me for all these award. I am indebted to you but now I am panicked. I have a fear of awards. Is “Awardophobia” a word? Does not seem so as I see the red squiggly line below the word. So I have to either invent it or break it up in two to Award Phobia.
I love the anonymity of the blogosphere. Allows me to hide my pot bellied, BMI fatmanandcomputerchallenged, receding hairline, wrinkled face, toothless grin self very nicely behind my words. Now you are trying to strip away that security by nominating me for all these awards. So let’s make a deal ( Am I sounding like Trump, oh dear!). I will visit all the bloggers you nominated ( no intention of visiting my own blog) and befriend them. I hope I am not shooting myself on my foot. Also I will try to answer the questions you asked to the best of my ability. Hope that will relieve me of writing the dreaded acceptance speech. So here goes.

1. What would you do if you got $50000?
>>> Pay my due taxes and the remainder to my kids’ college fund. Buys brownie points with the govt and my better half.
2. What is it that makes you unique?(Any three things)
>>> Oh dear. This is a tough one. Is anything under the sun unique any more. So with the risk of repeating here they are:
i) I am not a female.
ii) I am not a teenager
iii) I do not know what I am
3. What is your favourite colour? why?
>>> Yellow. Because I am a coward to accept the award.
4.What is your favourite number? Why?
>>> Number 9. That’s a secret.
5.Can you leave your country if you’ll get better future promises in any other country and settle down there.
>>> Already did. What a redundant question.
6.Arranged or Love marriage- preference?
>>> At this age do I have choice? Give me a break.
7.Success or Family- more important?
>>> family success.
8.Pet lover or hater?
>>> This one is easy. Why all the questions could not be like this? Definitely pet lover. Been one all my life.
9. What is your favorite thing to do?
>>> Except blogging ?
10.Your favorite place to go to?
>>> Bed.
11. Sports? Yes or No? Who & What?FootballGladiators
>>>Yes. Gladiator. Russel Crowe.
Wait, that’s a movie.
So the modern age gladiators – NFL. No brainer. They all lose their brains sometime
or other after all those concussions anyway.
12. Advice for new bloggers
>>> Stay away. Seriously. Get a life.
13. How did you start your blog?
>>> Pushed by my better half who must already be resenting her push by now.
14. Five facts about yourself.
>>> Already answered three of them in #2 above. I have to ask my better half for the other two responses. She being the better half must know it better than me. At least she thinks so.

Phew! Done at last.  Never written such a long post, except may be for my high school essays.  That’s why I keep to writing poems. Now that I have come clean, I hope my dear readers (if you have the patience to read this far), you will not judge me harshly. I hope I made the grades. No “D” and “F” please.

Off to tax preparation before I have to confront the worse half!


SaturdaySixMinuteChallenge3-26-16  (Became much longer than six minutes)

Disclaimer: If I forgot to mention any names or awards, it is due to my old age. I am not to be blamed.


		
Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

11 thoughts on “Of Awards, Acceptance,Apprehension”

  1. I totally get it. I think most of us are here on WP because we want to WRITE. We read and comment so others will reciprocate, and end up following the ones we like best. Congrats on your many nominations, it is to your credit that other bloggers like your posts enough to choose you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Saw your nomination and response on Laura’s blog so came to read your post. I can totally understand your views. They are indeed time consuming and I for one do not like the constraints of the ‘rules’ so bend them like Beckham 🙂 Which then makes more work for me !! As of this award from Laura, I am declaring my blog Award Free too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the visit and understanding my sentiment. I do not like to do anything half heartedly. So I take time when I read something to understand and if I have a positive comment, I like to share. That takes time and unfortunately, for all of us, time is in short supply. Blogosphere is an ocean and I am still standing on a small slice of a beach.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too. For me if I accept an award I prefer to create my own set of ‘rules’ for acceptance. As one blogger said, “if you give me a toy, don’t tell me how to play with it!” What that means is I create a whole lot more work for myself. Before I nominate anyone else I consider why and include the reasons in the nomination. There are also many blog now which are awards free. As I will be after this latest one.There is very divided opinion about the value of awards.

        Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

