Spring is in the air II

Spring is in the air

Last week I had share with you some photos from our neighborhood basking in spring. Today I persuaded a few of my friends, who are my weekend hiking buddies, to accompany me for a hike at Uvas Canyon County Park. The park is few miles south of my home. Swanson Creek that runs through the park swells up with winter rain and many small water falls can be seen during the hike.  Best time to visit the park is just after some sustained rain.  The creek nearly runs dry during the summer months. During the summer, morning is the best time to hike but during winter and early spring, from sunrise to sunset, it is a very pleasant hike.  The park is very peaceful, not very crowded and today being Easter Sunday, we had the trails nearly to ourselves. Sharing some photos from the hike today. Flower on the right lower corner is periwinkle that has started blooming. Color is normally blue or purple. My cell phone photo did not do justice to the photo.

UvasCanyonCollage

Orange trees on my backyard has started blooming with the advent of spring. The sweet20160327_130943
smell of orange blossoms is mesmerizing. For the last few years, it has been a spring ritual for us to see our dog, Skooby, being busy hunting bees and bumble bees that are attracted by the blooming flowers.  Not sure how successful he is in hunting but it is a treat to see his focus and concentration trying to catch a bee.  Of course I had to pay dearly to treat him for bee sting couple of times. Nothing in life comes free.


All photographs are taken by author.

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

One thought on “Spring is in the air II”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

