Love, Broken Hearts and Remedies

I am not an expert on any of the above three.  Never had the time and luxury to fall in love before marriage and may be I was not that attractive to the opposite sex to fall in love with me anyway.  I am glad that I did not fall, because it must be painful from all the broken heart posts that I have been reading recently. Hey, if you fall you are going to hurt yourself. If you hurt yourself, it is going to be painful. What’s so unique about that. So why all these sob stories. Now let me confess that never having Biology as a subject during my schooldays, I am completely ignorant if a heart can break or not if you fall.  I do know as part of my general knowledge that heart is a muscle and that too the largest or one of the largest muscles in the body.  I also know that muscles can be extended or torn with severe pain as a result.  But can they break as compared to bones? A fall few years back resulted in a broken bone in my right hand ( later I came to know that it was the humerus bone), the end result of which was severe pain, immobility and physical therapy for several months. So I am well acquainted with pain  due to fall and thank God that I did not fall in love. I can now legitimately call myself an expert in fall, broken bones and resulting pain. But falling in love and breaking one’s heart? Hmmm!

My better half occasionally says that I am heartless, you may have guessed the circumstances when it would be said. I have learnt my lessons early on not to oppose that statement.  With time I was convinced that I must not have had a heart. Otherwise, if I had a heart, why didn’t I fall in love and experienced the pain of heartbreak. Everybody else that I knew had at least one sob story of a heartbreak and associated pains. Of course all these stories normally come out after a few drinks and well away from the earshot of their spouses. So I had always taken them with a grain of salt. I always used to consider myself as the lucky one as I didn’t have to go through that pain and suffering.  But my good days were not going to continue for long. During regular yearly physical examinations a few years back, my doctor cautioned me that if I do not exercise caution in my indulgence of the good things in life, I am going to end up with a heart attack soon.  What, me? The guy who is heartless? How can I have a heart attack? Why does good tidings have to come with bad omen? Now I know that I have a heart, as vouched for by my doctor who has a M.D. from a reputed medical school, but also warned that I may have a heart attack. So I may feel the pain without ever falling in love. What absurdity! Life’s not fair indeed.  On the sunny side, whenever my better half now says I am heartless, I tell proudly, “you are not a doctor, I do have a heart”. Of course, before I say that I make sure that my exit route is clear. It’s never wise to back up to a corner.

Now that I have established that I have a heart and I am a legitimate expert in fall and pain, it behooves me all the more to explore the subject matter of this post. All the people can’t be wrong that falling in love can result in heartbreak and significant pain. What are the remedies? It can be like those whose only remedy for birth control is abstinence. But how can that be a remedy. Because if you don’t fall, then you don’t break and don’t need any remedy. What will happen to all the heart doctors and therapists? I do not want to be accused of creating unemployment.  Just imagine all the miseries created by heartbreaks, all the drinks that are sold to soothe broken hearts and the resulting medical bills, all the poems penned by lovelorn poets, all the romantic movies with happy and sad endings and millions and millions of hours lost wallowing in heartbroken miseries . I shudder to think of the repercussions of prescribing abstinence. It will be an upheaval. Good lord! I will be pro choice rather than pro life in this case. Yes, more choice to all those who want to fall in love. You can fall in love as many times as you can but do not seek your remedy in drinks when you break your heart as advised by my friend Duc Nguyen-I Do And I Don’t Think I Do . I will rather pay heed to the comment of Doc Flamingo to that post. Now don’t get me wrong. I love Duc’s poetry, it is that I have an aversion to addiction. Too much of a good thing including love and drinks can also be addictive and that’s what scares me. Then what is the remedy? Well, it is said that the antidote to snake bite is snake venom.  So antidote to love must be love.  Love, love and more love. My good friend, Paul runs a blog on Love Talk.  I should ask him for expert advice as I have already confessed I am not an expert. But I have experienced pain of falling and I do not want anybody to experience pain of falling in love, subsequent heartbreak  and associated misery. As Jacqueline said in one of her recent posts,acookingpotandtwistedtales , “Life lived dancing to the tunes of misery wears out the soul living it”, it does one no good to wallow on the misery of heartbreak. So here is my remedy. Go out to the world, open your heart to the world, spread your love and let love heal your wound and fix your broken hearts as I advocated in my poem Broken Heart today.


The idea of this post came today morning for a post for Saturday Six Minute Challenge sponsored by Writerish Ramblings. It became much longer than six minutes as I crossed a small milestone today. I was notified that I have now 200 followers, 201 to be precise. I thought that to celebrate I need to post something more substantive than six minutes rambling. This is the result. Hope my readers’ love or lack thereof does not result in a heartbreak for me, as my remedy is not yet field tested or FDA approved.

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

10 thoughts on “Love, Broken Hearts and Remedies”

  1. Your post reminded me of the popular proverb “the fruits of love, one who eats it shall suffer, and one who does not eats it shall also suffer”. I liked it👍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post reminded me of the popular proverb “the fruits of love, one who eats it shall suffer,and one who does not eats it shall also suffer”. I liked it 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations. For 200 followers and for heart ..:) I wasn’t expecting humor when I started reading this post. .. but this is serious comedy and some very good valid points mate! Job well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

