Follow-up to A Milestone: Senior Prom

This was the original post that I was supposed to write for Saturday Six Minute Challenge today.  But then my thought process was hijacked by the vain glorious update from WordPress regarding achieving my 200th post.  We bloggers are satisfied with so little. No wonder I am spending time on a Saturday morning clicking away merrily at the computer keyboard instead of being out there enjoying life.

Today is senior prom. No, not mine.  I have crossed that age long ago. From where I did my schooling, there was no concept of any prom nights or anything else for high school graduation.  Today is the senior prom day for my baby daughter.  Well, she is no longer a baby, in another ten days she will graduate from high school.  That is another day.  From early morning today, she is busy preparing for tonight. Few of her friends are here getting ready for their afternoon photo shoot.  My better half is out ( I think it is painful to see your baby being suddenly a grown up) and I am literally locked in my bedroom so that I do not embarrass my daughter and her friend ( and there lies the secret to the sudden uptick to my productivity in blogging today).  We are preparing to be empty nesters in another three or four months.  Though she will be away in a university only 35 miles from home, she will have to stay in dorms during the first two years.  Even after that, I do not think she would be commuting from home as the traffic is terrible on the mountainous roads.  It is therefore a bitter sweet day.  Your baby is grown-up and ready to fly and you are still trying to clip her wings.

She does fight with me all the time but may be I am always looking forward to those fights.  But today is her day.  Wishing her all my best for today for a milestone achieved and for all the coming days and years. Fly away but keep yourself grounded to solid bedrocks, my darling.

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

10 thoughts on “Follow-up to A Milestone: Senior Prom”

  1. There isn’t any prom concept here either, but we had farewell, teacher’s day, freshers day when we go nuts planning dress blah blah blah Those were the days! Your daughter is enjoying her time now..wishing her a bright future! 👣👣😄

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

