Elusive Manual:How to raise a Child

Life began as a
Clean slate
DIY
No manuals supplied
Stumble and learn
Let’s not
Difference of opinions
How to raise
Destroy the gift
Never will graduate
Never will be free
From parental responsibilities
So here is my take
Enjoy with a grain of salt
Because I don’t
Have a degree
Nor a PhD
To write
The Elusive manual
In Parenting or
Raising a kid

Everyone is unique
Let them bloom
Nurture
Do not trim
Love but
Do not splurge
Be firm
But give them space
Communicate, not condescend
Debate, not argue
Hugs and kisses, yes
A shoulder to rest
Not to cry
Teach them
How to fly
Do not clip
Their wings
So that
When they
Fly away
And fly
They will
They soar high
And don’t
Come crashing
Down to ground
Let them fly
Fly away
To distant lands
Let them savour
This beautiful world
Through their own eyes
Do not relive your failures
Through their lives
Let them succeed or fail
In their own ways
So that when
They come back home
To rest
You have a
Compassionate human being

This poem is based on a comment that I posted in response to Sarcasm by Jas

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

