Wheel of Life: Week 18 of My Fifty Two Weeks Journey with “W”

Today was my daughter’s high school graduation.  It was a warm day. Temperatures were hovering around mid 90F.  Hot weather did not dampen the spirit and enthusiasm of the freshly minted graduates.  Graduation ceremony was held outdoor in the beautiful settings of our city’s rose garden.  Several high schools of the unified school district had their graduation ceremony one after the other. As one school departed the venue, next school came in to celebrate.  Looking into the enthusiastic faces of hundreds of those young kids, I was reminded of our high school graduations.  Nothing could be as further from the scene I was witnessing.  In our school systems ten thousands miles away, we had to wait for months after the examinations were over agonising when the results would come out that could make or mar the life of a student.  Here majority of the students know, by the time they are being awarded the diploma, where they will be going in fall.  Though the day was joyous, the pain of leaving their friends were writ large on the faces of many of the students.  Many students had spent last twelve years of their life together, from elementary through middle school to high school. Now they are ready to part company, many moving thousands of miles away to other part of the country to attend colleges and universities in different part of the country.  Such is the way of life.  The wheel of life keeps on rolling relentlessly.  It does not stop for anything or anybody.  Slow and steady march continues till it meets its ultimate goal.

The wheel of my fifty two weeks journey is also slowly rolling forward, with highs and lows and bumps on the road.  The journey that started enthusiastically, has slowed down to a grind.  As the wheel of life turns, I am determined to see this journey through.  So for today’s poem starting with the letter “W” , I am choosing the word “Wheel”.  Now, off to writing the poem before the bell strikes twelve and my fairy godmother turns me to a walking dead.


This post is in response to Write Anything Wednesday-June-1-2016 sponsored by Writerish Ramblings

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

