Wanderlust: Week 21 of My Fifty Two Weeks Journey with “W”

It’s been only four days that I have not posted a blog but it felt much longer than that. Suddenly the workload has increased a lot and with summer heat a sense of tiredness and lethargy is slowly settling in.  After coming back from work, the urge to sit down and write is no longer there.  The bed is definitely becoming more inviting than the desk and chair.  I scroll through the posts in my reader but hardly have any strength left to read, comprehend and comment. Clicking the like button without reading feels like cheating to me, so I have refrained from doing so. Today is Wednesday and for the next thirty one weeks I will have to keep my commitment to write something for Write Anything Wednesday.  So here I am, tired, hour and half away from the end of Wednesday and trying to write something, Anything. I just hope I don’t fall asleep and my words start drifting towards some unknown land like a traveller without a fixed destination.

Talking about travel, in a week and half it is the long weekend of Independance Day. With schools being out for summer vacation, this weekend is a busy weekend for travel.  Many of my colleagues have taken the whole week off to go to some exotic places.  Summer is the time when wanderlust is in full bloom.  Everyone tries to take a break from work and travel. Of course for the super rich, every season can be travel season.  But for ordinary folks, their wanderlust is curbed by affordability.  Though this is a good time for us to plan a travel to some place far as both my kids have finished their schools and getting ready to go to college in fall, our work schedule curbed our travel plan.  We have to be satisfied with a short trip up north.

I am feeling good that my fingers are travelling smoothly on the keyboard once I sat down to write.  What I am writing, though not a masterpiece, is a reassurance to myself that I have not turned into a vegetable yet. So before my body refuses to cooperate and shuts down for the night, I am taking leave of you, my dear readers, to go and write a poem starting with the letter “W” for week twenty one of my journey with the letter “W”. With travel in mind, only word that comes to my mind is “Wanderlust”.


This post is in response to Write Anything Wednesday-June-22-2016 sponsored by Writerish Ramblings

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

