Why I Write:Week Twenty Nine of My Fifty Two Weeks Journey with the Letter ” W”

Of late I have questioned myself why do I write. I have seen a few other bloggers asking similar question. I first started writing when I was in high school, in my ninth and tenth grades.  Then for long time, except writing class notes and exams and occasional letters ( yes, we used to write letters by hand) to family members, I did not write anything else. All those applications and resumes for job interviews do not count.  I did not even write a single letter to the editor of the local newspapers.  Oh, that other kind of letters that some of us used to write in fancy pink papers in their youth, I never had the good fortune to write any of those.

What motivated me to write after a long hiatus, I cannot exactly pin point. Most probably the urge was always there, dormant. Once I started, I am finding it difficult to stop.  Technology helped.  The ability to access WordPress and Evernote apps on mobile phones definitely helped. It still does not explain why do I write.  Certainly it is not for fame, nor for money.  I have no illusion that I am going to earn any from my writing. So why do I write?

I think writing gives me a freedom that I have not experienced before.  It has given me a freedom to express myself without shouting, without disturbing others.  Words and ideas that normally would have been fermenting inside now have a medium to express themselves freely.  Online blogger friends that I have made are icing on the cake. If my writing makes even one person smile a day, I feel myself fortunate. What more can I ask.

So for today, on week twenty nine of my fifty two weeks journey with the letter “W”, I dedicate my poem to “Writing”.  Dear readers, I hope you would be able to figure out from the poem why I write.


This post is in response to Write Anything Wednesday-Aug-17-2016 sponsored by Writerish Ramblings

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

2 thoughts on “Why I Write:Week Twenty Nine of My Fifty Two Weeks Journey with the Letter ” W””

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

