Dawn: Poetry Challenge #44: Ghazal

This post is in response to Poetry Challenge sponsored by Jane Dougherty.  This is my first attempt for this poetry form.  I also decided to translate my first attempt of this poetry form to my mother tongue, Assamese, a major Indian language spoken by the people from the northeastern Indian state of Assam.


Opened my eyes to dawn’s beautiful streaming light
Memories of the first dawn with you breaks my heart

So many things we said on that morning long forgotten
Words that remained unspoken, today breaks my heart

Many miles we walked that day at the crack of dawn
The steps we did not take together, breaks my heart

So much we planned on that beautiful dawn
What we forgot to plan, today breaks my heart

Laughter and songs filled our life that blissful dawn
Dawn today is silent without you, it breaks my heart

 

প্ৰভাতী সুৰযৰ ৰাঙলী কিৰণত মেলিলো নয়ন দুটি
তোমাৰ লগত প্ৰথম প্ৰভাতৰ স্মৃতিত অন্তৰ দু:খিত অতি

কত কথা কৈছিলো দুৰ অতীতৰ সেই প্ৰভাতত
যি কথা নহল কোৱা তাকে ভাবি অন্তৰ দু:খিত অতি

কত দুৰ বাট বুলিছিলো অতীতৰ সেই দোকমোকালিত
যি পথ নহল লোৱা তাকে ভাবি অন্তৰ দু:খিত অতি

কত পৰিকল্পনা ভৱিষ্যতৰ সেই সুমধুৰ প্ৰভাতত
যি কথা নহল ভাবা তাকে ভাবি অন্তৰ দু:খিত অতি

সেই সুন্দৰ প্ৰভাতৰ হাঁহি আৰু গানে ভৰা জীৱনৰ স্মৃতি
তুমি নাইকিয়া আজি নিৰ্জন পুৱা, অন্তৰ দু:খিত অতি

 

 

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

14 thoughts on “Dawn: Poetry Challenge #44: Ghazal”

  1. It’s a beautiful poem, exactly the right tone for a ghazal. If you want it to come out closer to the strict definition, there should be an internal rhyme on the last word before the refrain through out the poem ie the word before ‘breaks my heart’ should rhyme in each couplet. I didn’t say the ghazal is a hellishly difficult form for nothing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Am sorry , I stopped reading after “Assamese” (What , he is from Axom?), am bad understanding poetry anyways 😦
    Ki khobor dada ?? Your name always reminds me of axom , pranab from axom 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

