Darwin Revisited

Nature waiting her turn
To extract her revenge
Those who think
They can turn the table
With their hired guns
Likes of Gaddafi and Saddam
Rose by the power of the gun
And fell by the same

If lies and deceit
Is the cornerstone
Of survival of the fittest
Those who prospered
Thumbing their noses
Darwin cited over and over
Kill or be killed
Laws of the jungle
Machiavellian logic dominate
Those responsible for all the mayhems
Enjoying their riches on their ranches
Or dreaming of the virgins in heaven
Saber rattling still the norm of the day
Macho men bare chested on their horses
Megalomaniacs threatening nuclear hell
Dwindling resources be damned
Go forth and multiply
Open our paths to heaven
Serving the poor on donations
If abstinence is the cure
Why shield the pedophiles
Followers of religion of peace
Mute spectators to atrocities
Carried out in the name of the most merciful
In the land of cow protectors
Modesty of women at risk
We, the silent majority
Dancing to the tune of
Our manipulators
Dividing humanity in artificial boundaries
Of race, religion, ethnicity and nationalities
They will have the last laugh
When we are led to the gallows
Erected by us
Don’t blame us
We the NIMBY crowd
We are just trying to survive
Trying our best to save our skin
Silence is golden, but
Not speaking up when needed
Silence is a deadly sin
We, the mute spectators
The meek, silent majority
We have seen the enemy
And the enemy is us
Nature will have the last laugh

NIMBY – not in my backyard

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

2 thoughts on “Darwin Revisited”

  1. You’re right, the silent majority needs to speak up. What is NIMBY today may be IMBY tomorrow! We are killing ourselves with our own technology and self-righteousness. Love the last line. Yes, nature will undoubtedly win… ever see a lowly tree root crack a sewer tile or buckle the sidewalk?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “ever see a lowly tree root crack a sewer tile or buckle the sidewalk?” – I did not exactly had that image in my mind when I wrote the poem. I was reading some news about a caterpillar infestation damaging paddy cultivation in my home state in India that is being connected to climate change.

      Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

