Thankful to be living

Everytime my heart sings a tune
And the sound comes out tortured
Everytime my pen writes a poem
And the words come out twisted
I die a little

Everytime I extend my hand of friendship
And it gets slapped down in disdain
Everytime I spread the gospel of love
And it gets shouted down
I die a little

Everytime I communicate across the divide
And I am misunderstood
Everytime I want to embrace one who disagrees
And I am pushed back
I die a little

Everytime I die a little, scarred and hurt
And the heart weeps silently
Everytime I spring back like the phoenix
And I resolve to keep on trying
I am thankful to be living

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

 

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

6 thoughts on “Thankful to be living”

    1. Thanks Joan.
      Had a great Thanksgiving yesterday. Relaxing day today. Just finished a poem, “Day AfterThanksgiving” to be posted in a few minutes.
      Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. We may not realize it, but we have many reasons to be thankful.

      Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

