Past is History, Not a Mystery

For those that past is not history but a mystery

Anything that can’t be explained a miracle

At the drop of a hat those who are ready

To confer divinity to reformers of the past

But are ready to punish and instill fear of death

On the followers of reformers of modern age

Heretics and hearsay if you question the past

Are we to believe that everything modern is foolish

And ignore the witch hunts and killings of the past

In the names of the divine and almighties

Fie to those for whom the past is a crutch

To crush any discourse and dissent

Fie to those who will not leave any stone unturned

To keep humanity shackled in fear of an all merciful

Past has becomes a tool in the hands of the powerful

To keep legions in line as blind followers

Reformers, yes! Enlightened humans they were.

We the ignorants put them in pedestals

Covering our eyes with religious blinds

Walking hobbled in our daily life

Looking for a saviour to save our souls

While the merchants of death

Paddle the past as pillars of faith

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

5 thoughts on “Past is History, Not a Mystery”

  1. Dada
    Every creation is commendable. Reveals the other side hitherto unknown to most of us. Only one request- plain English is preferred. Perhaps one book with all your poems will be coming very soon.
    Regards.
    DK Borah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, Book! It is not only in your dreams. I know you’ve been busy like you said in your comment. History is a teacher and not mystery. The interesting thing is that history constantly repeats itself in one form or the other and I guess it’s always being the way of life for the older form to question the new.

    Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

