TESTED

Many a times
I was tested
And found wanting
I moved through life
Keeping my head down
Ashamed of failures
Little did I realize
Those tests were not
What I wanted to pas
Even if I would have passed
Bar would have moved higher
Those tests were designed for failure
Crushing burden of expectations unfulfilled
Grounded me
Bereft of enjoyment
I never took flight
Motivations questioned
Commitment to responsibility condemned
Neither not motivated
Nor devoid of responsibilities
All I wanted was to
Dance to my own tune
That did not match
Society’s expectations
If did not raise my voice
In protestation
Labeled as detached
Refused to keep up with the Joneses
Branded unfit for society
How will they know
What fun it is to
Dance to one’s own tune
Travel the world by
Opening one’s mind
Fly like a bird
Soaring high as the mighty eagle
When sky is the limit
Why to chain my feet to the ground
Damn the tests
They are faulty anyway

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

2 thoughts on “TESTED”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

