Summer of 2017 – Part 4- Family Time

Continued from previous post : http://wp.me/p73yZZ-3oj

Sunday, July 2nd, I had to wiggle out from my weekend hiking to spend the day with the family. Normally our weekend hiking takes about three hours but including the drive back and forth, nearly the whole morning gets spent.  On Saturday, kids were talking about playing board games. One thing led to another and by the time we had some free time on our hands, everyone was tired.  It was a gorgeous summer day and we ended up with a nice pool side pre-independence day barbecue party with family friends.  All around us we could hear our neighbors enjoying the beautiful day with their own backyard parties.

PART 4: July 2, 2017 : Sunday: Family Time

After a leisurely breakfast, kids brought out some 10 different board games.  We had to vote to select two of them.  I have to confess that I am not an enthusiastic board game player.  I like scrabble but can’t keep my interest for very long playing other board games.  The two games that got selected, I had never played before.

Morning started out cool and the patio table by the poolside provided a good location for the four of us.  Once my son and daughter explained the rules, I did not find the games of “Exploding Kittens” and “Epidemic” that difficult to master.  But as the sun started moving in its trajectory towards the west, the day started to become hot.  Thankfully there was a cool breeze blowing that made it palatable.  Watermelon pieces and ice cold water was getting consumed first.  I volunteered to supply snacks and lunch.  With plenty of leftovers from the day before, arranging for food was not much of an issue.  However, I had an ulterior motive.  It provide me with an opportunity to go inside the house from time to time to cool off sufficiently.

By the time few rounds of Exploding Kittens and one really long round of Epidemic was over, it was nearly 3 PM.  We really had a good time but before the next round could start, I proposed driving to San Francisco.  Kids dragged their feet a little but ultimately agreed. Our dog Skooby was of course game for a drive, as always.  By the time we started for the 60 mile drive to San Francisco, it was nearly 5 PM.  My daughter, who drove the first 40 miles or so, was reluctant to drive in San Francisco and we switched in a vista point on HWy 280 with beautiful view of Crystal Spring reservoir to the west and San Francisco Bay to the east.

Surprisingly traffic in san Francisco was really light.  May be because it was already around 6:00 PM when we arrived near the ferry building, but I would always take light traffic in San Francisco compared to the regular maddening traffic.  However, being a Sunday and late evening, parking places along the piers were closed for the day.  Cruising around and looking for a suitable parking place ( and also trying to avoid the sky high parking rates of san Francisco), we ultimately found a place near pier 39 for a flat rate of $15 after 6;00 PM.  I did not have any intention of visiting pier 39.  Done that many times before.  It’s nothing but a tourist trap though it offers beautiful view of Alcatraz Islands  and surrounding areas during days that are not foggy.  Unfortunately for us, it was a cold evening.  Though the temperature officially was 54F, with wind blowing I thought it must be hovering around 40F.  All the watermelons and icy cold drinks  of the day and the sudden cold acted in tandem to hasten nature’s call.  Unfortunately, may be for the first time, I was greeted with long lines in Men’s Rest Rooms.  It was not a pleasant experience. Thankfully no harm done and from that point onwards, it was an enjoyable evening of sightseeing, eating and of course  taking photos.  By the time we returned back home for a well deserved rest, it was nearly midnight.


To be continued.

©All photographs in this post were taken by the author.  Readers are free to use with proper acknowledgement to the author.

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

