Holiday Parking Lot at the Mall

Holiday Parking Lot at the Mall

Time at a standstill
Life crawling at snail’s pace
Something boiling inside
Amidst it all
Tranquility.

Realization setting in slowly
Rising frustration
Helplessness
Can’t abandon my place
In this meandering centipede

Cacophony of sound and light
Elderly gentleman shuffling slowly
Bag in hand, glancing back and forth.

Expectant eyes following his every move
Moving ever so slowly
Not to miss the slot he vacates
Oh dear! What a letdown.
Unexpected uncertainties of life
Not the exit, but the entrance he turns.

A ripple of smile comes down the line
An undulating wave down the spine
Suddenly the head comes alive
And the crawling centipede starts to glide
Oh! how we enjoy disappointment of others.

Like a Zen Buddhist deep in meditation
Eyes focused in reaching exalted destination
We move slowly
Time is of no essence

Suddenly a ray of light ahead
Turn hard and squeeze in fast
Nirvana
Destination at last
I got a slot
On holiday
At the mall parking lot.

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

