Wish

Wish things would have turned out different
It was not to be, but is there a need to weep
Struggle for ideals supported must go on
Hardly it is time to recede and be a recluse

Wish for a better future for the country
In ourselves we must have faith in defeat
Swamped in despair and sadness we may be
Hold our heads high we must to thrive

Wish for a march forward for progressive ideals
Inclusiveness be the battle cry in our resolve to strive
Shoulder our responsibilities we must bravely
Hard though the fight may be to preserve our rights

Wish for the best to the winner and prosperity to our land
Indeed be magnanimous in defeat but be on our guard
Strength in numbers will be overruled by electoral college
Henceforth resolve to work to overturn the archaic garbage


Write anything Wednesday Nov-9-2016

 

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

3 thoughts on “Wish”

      1. I totally agree that whoever got the most votes should win. The Electoral College is just one more way to unfairly manipulate numbers and outcomes–we need to get rid of it. But the ones who use it to their advantage will fight hard to see that doesn’t happen.

        Liked by 1 person

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

