Trickle Down

Supply side economics

Maximize home ownership

If they can’t  afford

Let them mortgage their own future

Deregulation, let the banks gamble

After all it’s not their money, what do they have to lose

Iran Contra,  Savings and Loan scandal

Who cares as long as there are enough fools

To believe that tooth fairy exists

We can ride proudly into the setting sun

Read my lips,  no new taxes

What can I do, my hands tied behind my back

Bozos shouting it’s the economy stupid

Rode their horses to the white house

NAFTA, globalization,  repeal Glass Steagall

Did you hear the whooshing sound

Residing in glass houses themselves

They threw impeachment  stones

Contract with America, progress be damned

Lock boxes,  strategory,  hanging chads

WMD permanently lost in desert sands

Perpetrators of 9/11 hidden in another land

Who cares as long as I can extract my revenge

Neither did I serve, nor will my kids

What do I care if others did

Billion dollars surplus turns to trillion dollars deficit

Rejoice,  my friends definitely got rich

It’s not my fault that economy collapsed

I did not create the dot-com bust

Housing bubble responsibility  on my shoulder

Don’t you even dare to go there

I have a 1500 acre ranch to take care

TARP is not tarpaulin you know

No drama here,  I have to take care of

The big fishes too big to fail

Otherwise who will finance the election drill

Can’t prosecute, can’t send them to jail

ACA became my name care

I don’t have  much time to spare

To defend my signature legacy

White House is too comfortable

To go and preach to the hoity toity

My communication skills did not fail me

Don’t understand why the elephants

Won’t even talk to me

They are busy in name calling

Six years wasted without producing much

Time for me to go searching for greener grass

Leader of the birther movement

Scion of the one percent

Smart enough to not pay any taxes

Separation of state and church is fine

As long as SCOTUS is in line

Boys will be boys, we have our own

Expert in talking locker room trash

It’ s OK, it is just campaign talk

Our hero will bring back all the lost jobs

Build the wall and make others pay

On the side a tower here and there, does it matter

With his name emblazoned on top as shining star

After all that’s what the teflon don preached

Trickle down economics will make everyone rich

Poor souls with short memory forgot

It was all hot air that went up

Made the rich one percent richer beyond dreams

While the middle class trickled down to poor

Poor lost their homes and trickled out the door

 

 

 

 

 

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

4 thoughts on “Trickle Down”

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

