Start of Second Half of My Fifty Two Weeks Journey with the Letter ” W”

Today marks the start of second half of my fifty two weeks journey with the letter “W”.  I won’t say that the last twenty six weeks have been a very smooth journey.  Sometimes the words came easily and sometimes it was a mighty struggle. The struggle was mainly due to tiredness and mental fatigue after a long day’s work.  Many a times I thought of writing the poem and the piece for Write Anything Wednesday beforehand and schedule it to be posted on Wednesday.  It never happened.  May be I am not disciplined enough or organized. Fun that I have in writing spontaneously, I do not think I will have the same pleasure writing methodically.  Many of the poems that I wrote for journey with “W” did not please me when I wrote them.  I always thought that I could have done a better job if I would have given more time to compose my thoughts and then write.  However, in each of those occasions I was pleasantly surprised that the poems were well received.  My readers must be a very kind hearted bunch to encourage me such.  I am truly indebted.

The topics I had chosen during the last twenty six weeks were varied.  Starting with “We, Not I” and finishing the first half with “Woods”, in between I had wondered, questioned why, worried about my growing waistline, wanting delicious wedding foods(of course forgetting about my waistline), about wisdom of weekend wanderlust, winning wheels, wildlife and wildfires, wimpy Wednesdays and many more.  I am hoping next twenty six weeks will be equally enjoyable.

Kristi, sponsor of Write Anything Wednesday made a comment on my last poem written on week twenty six of my  journey that do I find it easier to have set letters for the first words of every line or does it make it harder?  My response to her was that I never thought about that and that was an honest answer.  I kept thinking why she asked me that question.  Today I went back and reviewed the poems that I wrote every Wednesday for last twenty six weeks and realized to my horror that many of the poems had the structure Kristi mentioned whereas poems written on other days had a much free flowing structure. May be because of the time constraint of writing and posting a poem before 12 midnight every Wednesday made me follow a structure I felt comfortable with.  That must be my comfort zone.  For today I have decided to make a conscious effort to be out of that self imposed, albeit unknowingly, comfort zone.

That brings me to the most important question of the day.  Less than hour and half left for midnight and I do not have a word starting with “W” to start my poem.  I am just looking at a blank wall in front of my desktop.  I am still old fashioned in that sense, still love my desktop to write.  Actually the large screen is much better than the small screen of the cell phone to write. Wait a minute, in this paragraph I have three words starting with “W”. I just need one. So long my dear readers, time to write and post my poem and start the second half of my fifty two weeks journey with the letter “W”.


This post is in response to Write Anything Wednesday-Aug-03-2016 sponsored by Writerish Ramblings

Author: pranabaxom

Poetry is my passion. I am not a methodical writer. I have no set topics to write about. What I feel, perceive, think about, I will like to share in this blog. I open my mind to the world. Like the weather, sometimes my poems are cloudy, sometimes stormy. I always like to see sunshine streaming through the leaves of trees, so I hope I can share some of those sunshine with my readers.

Let It Rain With Your Constructive Comments

